This weekend Italians will be voting in the primaries to choose the leader of the centre-left party. This year Italians living abroad have been invited to take part in the primaries and vote online.

I found both registration and voting super smart. Four pieces of information where required to vote: country of residence, email for communication, the photo of the passport and, most important of all, the mobile number for identification.

After a couple of days I received confirmation of registration and today a message with the link to the online voting site and a PIN number.

Screen Shot 2012-12-01 at 09.29.31

To vote I was asked to enter my phone number and PIN number, then to call from the same number a phone number in Italy, that verified the origin of the call and by magic opened the voting page. One of the smoothest example of multichannel integration I’ve experienced.

